Download your PDF score!
By music teachers, for their students

Scores Quartet Saxophone Grade 5 to 8

Title
Author
Set
Prices
Pénélope & Le Bistrot - Quatuor de Saxophones - BRASSENS G.

Pénélope & Le Bistrot (Saxophone Quartet)

Georges Brassens

Quatuor de Saxophones

9.90€

On the clouds - Quatuor de Saxophones - VEYS A.

On The Clouds

Adrien Veys

Quatuor Saxophone

7.90€

Sérénade KV 361 - Quatuor de saxophones - MOZART W. A.

Serenade No. 10 (Saxophone Quartet)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Quatuor de saxophones

4.90€

La Fille aux Cheveux de lin - Quatuor Saxophones - DEBUSSY C.

La Fille aux cheveux de lin

Claude Debussy

Quatuor de Saxophones

4.90€

Laideronnette - Ensemble Percussions - RAVEL M.

Laideronnette

Maurice Ravel

Ensemble de Percussions

9.90€

Je te veux - Quatuor de Saxophones - SATIE E.

Je te veux (Saxophones)

Erik Satie

Quatuor Saxophones

7.90€

Plaisir d'Amour - Quatuor de Saxophones - MARTINI J-P-E

Plaisir d'Amour (Saxophone Quartet)

Jean-Paul Égide Martini

Quatuor de saxophones

7.90€

Tambourin - Ensemble variable - RAMEAU J. P.

Tambourin

Jean-Philippe Rameau

Quatuor de Saxophones

7.90€

La Belle et le Blues - Quatuor de Saxophones - BOLLING C.

La Belle et le Blues (Saxophone Quartet)

Claude Bolling

Quatuor de Saxophones

7.90€

The Muppet Show - Ensemble de Saxophones - HENSON J.

The Muppet Show (Saxophone ensemble)

Jim Henson

Ensemble de Saxophones

9.90€


A saxophone quartet is an ensemble of four saxophones, typically soprano, alto, tenor and baritone. Different members of the saxophone family are used to offer a wider range and a variety of tonal colours.

The saxophone was developed in 1840 by Adolphe Sax, a Belgian flutist and clarinettist based in Brussels. Sax made considerable efforts to popularize the instrument, but faced opposition from his fellow luthiers of the time. Although originally conceived as an orchestral instrument, it was through military music that the instrument first experienced a significant rise. The composer Jean-Baptiste Singelee had written scores for four saxophones in the 19th century. These are the Allegro de concert (AATB), the Quartet in 4 Parts (SATB) and the Grand Quatuor Concertant in 3 Parts (SATB). In 1878, the Gilmour Band featured a saxophone quartet in which Edouard Lefèbre, the group's soloist, took part. In 1905, Lefèbre formed his saxophone quartet with a repertoire of transcriptions.

Marcel Mule was the second saxophone teacher at the Paris Conservatory after Adolphe Sax himself. In 1928, he founded Le Quatuor de la Musique de la Garde Républicaine, later known as the Quatuor de saxophones de Paris, then the Marcel Mule Quartet. The founding members were:

Numerous works for saxophone quartet that are now part of the standard repertoire were written for this ensemble. Mule himself also arranged works for this ensemble.

Daniel Deffayet was a pupil of Marcel Mule, then professor of saxophone at the Paris Conservatory. In 1953 he founded the "SaxophoneQuartet Daniel Deffayet".

Jean-Yves Fourmeau formed his own quartet in 1979. These ensembles have made a significant contribution to the expansion of the repertoire through their work with composers. Among the renowned composers who have written scores for the quartets are Phil Woods, Alexander Glazunov, Eugene Bozza, Philip Glass and others. Since the 1970s, jazz quartets have begun to emerge, broadening the scope of the ensemble and the idiom of the repertoire.

Saxophone quartets abound with amateur, professional and university ensembles. The last World Saxophone Congress, in 2015, organised a competition specifically for saxophone quartets with a first prize of 4000 euros and a recital, won by the Keuris Saxophone Quartet.

While the SATB remains the most common classical configuration, the soprano is sometimes replaced by another alto, leading to an AATB configuration, especially in jazz and contemporary ensembles. Other configurations exist, notably the Four Baritones Quartet.

Our PDF scores for Saxophone Quartet are edited with the 4-part conductor as well as the separate parts. One of the best selling postgraduate works is Richard Galliano's "Tango pour Claude" in homage to Claude Nougaro.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Téléchargez votre partition PDF !
Par les professeurs de musique, pour leurs élèves

Partitions Quatuor de Saxophones 2e Cycle

Titre
Auteur
Ensemble
Prix
Danse paysanne norvégienne - Quatuor de Saxophones - GRIEG E.

Danse paysanne norvégienne

Edward Grieg

Quatuor de Saxophones

4.90€

La Belle et le Blues - Quatuor de Saxophones - BOLLING C.

La Belle et le Blues (4te sax)

Claude Bolling

Quatuor de Saxophones

7.90€

Voyage Andalou - Quatuor de Saxophones - DEQUEANT B.

Voyage Andalou (4te Sax)

Bernard Dequéant

Quatuor de Saxophones

7.90€

Le Fossoyeur - Quatuor de Saxophones - BRASSENS G.

Le Fossoyeur

Georges Brassens

Quatuor de Saxophones

7.90€

Volver - Quatuor de Saxophones - GARDEL C.

Volver (Quatuor Saxophones)

Carlos Gardel

Quatuor de Saxophones

9.90€

La Panthère Rose - Quatuor de Saxophones - MANCINI H.

La Panthère Rose (Quatuor Saxophones)

Henry Mancini

Quatuor de Saxophones

7.90€

My Way - Quatuor de Saxophones - FRANCOIS C.

My Way - Quatuor Saxophones

Claude François

, Jacques Revaux

Quatuor de Saxophones

6.90€

Mercy Mercy Mercy - Ensemble de Saxophones - ZAWINUL J.

Mercy Mercy Mercy

Joseph Zawinul

Ensemble de Saxophones

9.90€

J'me suis fais tout petit - Ensemble de Saxophones - BRASSENS G.

J'me suis fais tout petit

Georges Brassens

Ensemble de Saxophones

9.90€

Tonka - Ensemble de Saxophones - VEYS A.

Tonka

Adrien Veys

Ensemble de Saxophones

7.90€


Un quatuor de saxophones est un ensemble composé de quatre saxophones, typiquement soprano, alto, ténor et baryton. Différents membres de la famille des saxophones sont employés pour offrir une gamme plus large et une variété de couleurs tonales.

Le saxophone a été développé en 1840 par Adolphe Sax flûtiste et clarinettiste belge basé à Bruxelles. Sax a déployé des efforts considérables pour populariser l'instrument, mais il s'est heurté à l'opposition de ses collègues luthiers de l'époque. Bien qu'initialement conçu comme un instrument d'orchestre, c'est par le biais de la musique militaire que l'instrument connut d'abord un essor significatif. Le compositeur Jean-Baptiste Singelee avait écrit des partitions pour quatre saxophones au XIXe siècle. Il s'agit de l'Allegro de concert (AATB), du Quatuor en 4 Parties (SATB) et du Grand Quatuor Concertant en 3 Parties (SATB). En 1878, le Gilmour Band met en vedette un quatuor de saxophones auquel participe Edouard Lefèbre, soliste du groupe. En 1905, Lefèbre forme son quatuor de saxophones avec un répertoire de transcriptions.

Marcel Mule, qui fut le deuxième professeur de saxophone au Conservatoire de Paris après Adolphe Sax lui-même. En 1928, il fonde Le Quatuor de la Musique de la Garde Républicaine, plus tard connu sous le nom de Quatuor de saxophones de Paris, puis le quatuor Marcel Mule. Les membres fondateurs étaient:

De nombreuses œuvres pour quatuor de saxophones qui font maintenant partie du répertoire standard ont été écrites pour cet ensemble. Mule lui-même arrangea aussi des œuvres pour cet ensemble.

Daniel Deffayet fut élève de Marcel Mule, puis professeur de saxophone au Conservatoire de Paris. En 1953, il fonde le "Quatuor de Saxophones Daniel Deffayet".

Jean-Yves Fourmeau forme son propre quatuor en 1979. Ces ensembles ont contribué de façon significative à l'élargissement du répertoire par leur travail avec les compositeurs. Parmi les compositeurs renommés qui ont écrit partitions des quatuors figurent Phil Woods, Alexander Glazunov, Eugene Bozza, Philip Glass et d'autres. Depuis les années 1970, des quatuors de jazz ont commencé à émerger, élargissant ainsi le champ d'action de l'ensemble et l'idiome du répertoire.

Les quatuors de saxophones regorgent d'ensembles amateurs, professionnels et universitaires. Le dernier Congrès Mondial du Saxophone, en 2015, a organisé un concours spécifiquement destiné aux quatuors de saxophones avec un premier prix de 4000 euros et un récital, remporté par le Quatuor de saxophones Keuris.

Si le SATB reste la configuration classique la plus répandue, la soprano est parfois remplacée par un autre alto, ce qui conduit à une configuration AATB, notamment dans le jazz et les ensembles contemporains. D'autres configurations existent, notamment le Four Baritones Quartet.

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

Les éditeurs avec qui nous travaillons

logos Editeurs

Notre Partenaire

logo Open Talent